Electrical Permits 

Rutherford County, with the exception of Murfreesboro City and Smyrna City, participates in the State Electrical Program. Meaning all electrical permits are State of TN electrical permits, and the electrical inspections are performed by contracted Deputy Electrical Inspectors. These inspectors conduct residential, commercial, and industrial electrical inspections of new and existing structures.

Issuance of Electrical Permits

The Rutherford County Building Codes Department is an issuing agent for the Department of Commerce & Insurance for the state of TN. Therefore, we can issue state of TN electrical permits in our office. With that being said, we can also issue electrical permits for other jurisdictions participating in the State Electrical Program. If you are unsure if a property falls within the state program, please check here for a list of exempt jurisdictions. If a property is located in an exempt jurisdiction, please check with that jurisdiction's building codes department for further electrical permit instructions.

We can issue electrical permits to electricians licensed by the state of TN and/or property owners. If you wish to apply for an electrical permit, we ask that you submit a completed electrical application by visiting our office or emailing/faxing the application to us.

We issue the permits using the state's website. Because these are done electronically, we cannot accept cash. We do however, accept all major credit card companies and electronic checks. 

The application can be found here.


Pricing of Electrical Permits

The fee for electrical permits is based upon the number of inspections needed, and the service size/amp size. For a break down of the fees, please click here


Requesting an Electrical Inspection

Our office can also request state of TN electrical inspections through the state's website. Please call the office or email us with your request. Please have your electrical permit number available. Unfortunately, we cannot request an inspection using the address. 


Office: 615-898-7734

Fax: 615-898-7941

Email: [email protected]


If you have further questions regarding the issuance of electrical permits or requesting an inspection, please contact our office.

All other questions can be directed to the State Electric Office at 615-741-7170.


Contracted Deputy Electrical Inspectors for Rutherford County

Mike Cloyd: 615-405-6375

Daryl Alexander: 629-867-4945


Contracted Deputy Electrical Inspectors for Cannon County

Kyle Vari: 615-427-9586